Hand It Over to God

On my way to work, I threw my hands in the air and said, ‘I can’t do this anymore, God.  I give it all to you.’

Over a period of about six months, the job as a Dental Receptionist that I once enjoyed had turned into something I dreaded. The atmosphere had changed. There was an underlying tension that I didn’t understand and couldn’t seem to make better.

I was having to talk myself out of the car and into the building, every time.

However, it was easier to go into work that morning. I had a fairly good day.

The next day, arriving at work was not as difficult as it had been. Everything seemed to be getting better. My boss asked me to stay behind to talk.  I was relieved. He had been avoiding me for days.

The conversation took me completely by surprise.

I lost my job!

This was not what I meant when I gave the situation to God.

A New Beginning

Yet, a sense of peace quickly followed. I knew that this was the answer to my prayer.  I left in a positive state of mind, even dropping off a thank-you note for the years of employment.

A new chapter was starting for me and I had no idea where it would take me. I was not the one in control of my journey.  During the next year, God taught me to really trust him as he led me through a series of temporary jobs.

One of these was close to where my elderly mother lived. My mother and I had a close, loving relationship but a busy life. Family commitments left me little time to spend with her.  Now we were able to spend quality time together during mid-week lunch dates.

This was the bonus I needed to keep going, even though the atmosphere was not ideal in the maternity relief position I was filling.

When that came to an end, I wondered what God had in store for me next.

Lower Salary

I didn’t have to wait long to find out. Our pastor offered me the job of church secretary.  This job was close to home, in a supportive atmosphere. It offered new challenges and an opportunity to serve. It was everything I wanted.

Except the pay was about half of what I had been making.

I knelt beside my bed and asked God for guidance.  I felt him telling me that He had taken care of all of my needs so far and I should trust him to continue.

Happily, I accepted the job and, like the story of the loaves and fishes, my paycheck stretched to cover everything it needed to.

Unexpected Blessing

There were many positive benefits to this job, but the most important turned out to be something I had not anticipated.

I had only been in the position for about six months when my mother’s health declined.  She had undergone quadruple heart bypass surgery ten years previously and was now weakening again.  A blood disorder was diagnosed and the combination of these two was more than her body could bear.

My job in the church office gave me the flexibility that I needed to take her to doctors’ appointments and to be there when she needed me.  I cherish the time we were able to spend together during her final months.

I am convinced that I would not have had this, had I not turned control of my original job situation over to God.

 

Tandy Balson croppedTandy Balson is originally from Vancouver, BC, and now makes her home near Calgary Alberta.  She writes short, inspirational messages that are posted on her blog, www.timewithtandy.com, and has just released her first book, ‘Inspirations from the Everyday’, which is available thorough her website, www.tandyb.com, or through Amazon.

It is important to share our testimonies to encourage others with the love and guidance that God has given to us.  It also shows that no matter what we are going through, we are never alone.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Courage Times Three

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am

Hours & Info

1-202-555-1212
Lunch: 11am - 2pm
Dinner: M-Th 5pm - 11pm, Fri-Sat:5pm - 1am
